It’s a good idea to set up separate users for Sutro Li bookkeepers and our clients’ staff members. This allows us to view reports and see who was the last user to make changes.

In general, we prefer to create users for individuals, rather than organizations. If you are logged in to Xero or QuickBooks, you should be logged in under your own name, rather than under a general user ID. This helps us establish a clear audit trail in future data.

 

Directions for Xero

To add, edit or delete a user in Xero, you must be an Advisor with Manage User privileges.

Access the user menu:

  1. Click Settings > General Settings > Users.

Add users:

    1. Click Invite a User.
    2. Enter details and set the access level.
    3. Click Continue to send an invitation email.

Edit users:

    1. Click a user name.
    2. Make changes and click Save.

Delete users:

    1. Click a user name.
    2. Click Remove Access.

 

Directions for QuickBooks PC versions

You must be logged in as an Administrator-level user to make changes to user accounts.

Access the user menu:

  1. Click Company > Set Up Users and Passwords, then Set Up Users.
  2. Enter the admin password and click OK.

Add users:

    1. Click Add User . . .
    2. Set the user name and password. Leave the box unchecked that says “Add this user to my QuickBooks license.”
    3. Set the access type. For Sutro Li users, use External Accountant. For client users, use All Areas of QuickBooks. It will ask if you are sure; click Yes. This will allow the client to modify any data, but they will not be able to reset the closing date password.
    4. Click Finish.

Edit users:

    1. Select an existing user and click Edit User . . .
    2. The first screen allows you to change the password if you want to.
    3. The second screen allows you to change the access type if you want to. If you select All Areas, it will ask if you are sure; click Yes.
    4. Click Finish.

Delete Users:

    1. Select an existing user and click Delete User . . .
    2. When asked if you are sure, click Yes if you are certain.

 

Directions for QuickBooks Mac versions

You must be logged in as an Administrator-level user to make changes to user accounts.

Access the user menu:

  1. Click QuickBooks > Preferences.
  2. Under General, click Users & Passwords.

Add users:

    1. Click the + icon at the lower left.
    2. Set the user name and password.
    3. Under permissions, select an access type. For Sutro Li users, use All Areas of QuickBooks (Administrative). For clients, use Selected Areas of QuickBooks (Custom). This allows you to set permissions of specific groups of actions. Select all the options. This will allow the client to modify any data, but they will not be able to reset the closing date password. You can set a Security Question if you want to.
    4. Once you have selected an access type and set the options accordingly, click Save.

Edit users:

    1. Select an existing user and click Edit.
    2. Click the lock icon next to Password if you want to change it.
    3. Under Permissions, set the access type if you want to change it.
    4. Click Save.

Delete users:

    1. Select an existing user and click the – icon.
    2. When asked if you are sure, click Yes if you are certain.

Alex Nitta

Leave a Reply